December 7th, 2022 | 1:05:10

Understanding the 14 Elements of Process Safety Management (PSM)

Improper handling of highly hazardous chemicals (HHC), such as toxic, reactive, or flammable liquids can result in accidental releases and emergency responses. In 1992, due to a series of accidents that occurred in industries, OSHA developed a list of highly hazardous chemicals defined by 29 CFR 1910.119. If the company has HHC more than the threshold limit, it is necessary to implement Process Safety Management (PSM) elements to comply with OSHA’s requirements.

PSM is a “disciplined framework for managing the integrity of operating systems and processes that handle hazardous substances.” PSM focuses on preventing, preparedness for, mitigation of, response to, and restoration from unexpected catastrophic releases of chemicals or energy from a process associated with a facility. PSM seeks to accomplish this by applying the best design principles and operating procedures in engineering and management.

Join us for these key takeaways:

  • Understand the 14 elements of PSM
  • Learn how digitally transforming your inspection program can help support PSM
  • Find out why we need PSM
  • Know the goal of a PSM program
  • Discuss available standards in supporting PSM
  • Know best practices for leveraging technology in complying with OSHA’s PSM standard

Related Webinars

Request Demo